Making Fur A Staple

I’ve wanted a fur vest for two years now. I bought one from Urban Outfitters last winter and ended up returning it. I didn’t have the confidence to wear one out in public. But every time I’d go shopping, I’d gravitate to the fur vest rack every chance I had.

I found that on my 5’2″ frame, fur seemed to consume body. It was like the fur was wearing me instead of me wearing the fur!

Disappointed that I couldn’t pull it off, I gave up on fur for a while. But when I was at Forever21 over Thanksgiving holiday, I found a $30 fur vest I just couldn’t pass up. If it just hung in my closet, I didn’t mind since it was such a cheap investment. And who knows, maybe I’d find cause to wear it.

Well, from the picture above you can see that I did end up wearing it–with a pink and white striped fitted Ralph Lauren blouse. I found that combat boots, leggings, and a fur vest wasn’t working for me so I made it an accessory of a preppier ensemble. I paired it with a pair of Gap jeans and loafers I bought in Paris. Instead of street sartorial, I found that fur works for me if I try looking classy, not edgy.

Comments Off on Making Fur A Staple

Filed under Fashion Fixation, Fashion's Finest, Inside My Shopping Bag

Comments are closed.