My Fashion Inspiration: My Grandmother

For as long as I can remember, going into the city to see my grandma was always a big ordeal. The morning of, I would be yelling down the hallway for my mom to help me figure out the perfect outfit to wear. Everything had to look perfect. Hair straight, outfit coordinated, and make up flawless to cover every blemish of my adolescent ached face. This primping was not done out of fear about my grandma’s opinions, but out of love. I always wanted to impress the women that has had such a tremendous influence on my style. Well to be honest, also because she hated my curly dark brown hair. She always liked how the sun lightly highlighted my hair a golden brown.

My grandma’s traveled the world as a fast fashion buyer in her forties. She would look at what Bergdorf’s and Barney’s were selling and find ways to replicate designers at a much more affordable price. Besides looking at glamorous clothes all day long, her job came with another perk. She was able to travel to London, Milan, and her favorite city, Paris see what European designers were offering and most importantly what European women were wearing. She’ll now tell you fashion today is a disgrace and is nothing like the elegant clothing of the 1950s and 1960s. I happen to agree.

Her career in and love for fashion has rubbed off on me. As a child I played in her closet with my sister every time we visited. I’d put on her Chanel bag and my sister would frolic around in her Fendi. We’d wear her gaudy earrings and parade around in her Upper West Side apartment in her scarfs and vintage jackets. Well let’s be honest, I’m now 22 and still play in her closet. Its fun being the granddaughter of Beatrice, or B for short.

This year my grandma turned 90. To dinner (at the Cafe Luxemburg where Old Hollywood starlets like Laura Bacall like to grab dinner) my grandma was as stylish as ever. Age does not deter that woman. She wore a tailored vintage Prada jacket with a crisp white blouse, black pants and gold vintage bangles. Her hair was immaculate having just gotten her gray scalp touched up to match her dyed-blond locks. Dark green eye liner complimented her gorgeous green eyes and pink lipstick was the cherry on top of the decadent cake.

I have an immense admiration for my grandma. She’s the cutest, most adorable grandma in the world and I am the luckiest granddaughter on earth. Happy Birthday Grandma, my fashion icon.

The pictures I took at dinner from my blackberry are awful but here she is two weeks earlier having drinks with my mom and her best friend Faith (right).

Comments Off on My Fashion Inspiration: My Grandmother

Filed under Fashion Fixation, Fashion's Finest, Iconic Idols, Uncategorized

Comments are closed.